The Harpa Concert Hall in Reykjavik, Iceland
The Harpa Concert Hall in Reykjavik, Iceland | Photo by Ivan Sabljak

Mies van der Rohe Award 2013

Triennale di Milano

Good To Know


June 28, 2013


September 1, 2013

Every two years the European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture, the Mies van der Rohe Award, is granted to an architectural production in Europe to recognise its conceptual, technical and constructional qualities. The objective is to draw attention to the major contribution by European professionals to the development of new ideas and technologies.

The winner of the 2013 award is the Harpa Reykjavik Concert Hall & Conference Centre in Reykjavik, Iceland designed by Batteríið Architects, Henning Larsen Architects and Studio Olafur Eliasson. Harpa was selected as the winner from among 335 submissions from 37 European cities.

With the exhibition Constructing Europe – 25 Years of Architecture, the Triennale di Milano pays tribute to the 2013 winner of the Mies van der Rohe award, and celebrates the 25th anniversary of the award itself.

Practical Information
please see Triennale di Milano